How It all Started

The beginning of my Treaty walk started as we began to talk more about Treaties. I came to the harsh truth that I really do not know as much as I thought I did about this topic and what it truly means to be a Treaty person.  I was always informed that we are all Treaty people and I am aware that I occupy Treaty 4 land. However, I was never really prompted to think about what this exactly entailed. I know why I’m a Treaty person but not what this means and I am trying to unpack this idea and what this identity of mine looks like. Now that I have started this journey, I’m not sure that it will ever be done and this excites me a little bit. I am always looking for ways to broaden my understanding of the world and while I will be setting goals for myself along this journey, I do not have an end date in mind and I don’t see one in the near future.

Some goals that I have in mind right now are:

  1. Learn the history behind Treaties (when they were signed and on what terms)
  2. Continually unpack this idea of what it means to be a Treaty person
  3. Gain more insight on how to connect Treaty Ed. throughout my teaching in a cross-curricular way rather than just in one subject or lesson.
  4. Feel more comfortable in my Treaty teachings

 

Leave a Reply

